Shining light on young talent

The Fashion Project’s goal is to promote the awareness of emerging fashion designers.

RMIT’s fashion student, Amelia Agosta, a promising young designer, took some time out to talk to The Fashion Project about her inspirations, hopes and admirations within the fashion industry.

 

AMELIA AGOSTA

Amelia Agosta

 

What motivated you to begin studies in fashion and design?

My family are heavily involved in art. I guess my creative side has stemmed from my father, as he is an architect and also my grandmother’s passion for sewing.

I used to stay at my grandparent’s house, a small country town in NSW, for weeks at a time. There was never anything exciting to do, so I would play with the scrap materials in my grandma’s sewing room making outfits for my Barbie dolls.

In secondary school, the subject ‘textiles’ was my favourite subject. I loved making special gifts for family and friends and of course, loved making clothes for myself

 

What is it that you love about fashion design?

The freedom to create anything you can.  Exploring different techniques and materials and being a part of the process and evolution of a product.

 

Who inspires you?

I don’t really draw my inspiration from one set designer, it depends on what the brief and theme is. I have looked upon the works of Maison Martin Margiela, Comme des Garçons, Christopher Kane, Hussein Chalayan and many more.

The most valuable source of inspiration is the advice and ideas provided by my peers and teachers.

Also, I gain inspiration from things which aren’t necessarily fashion related – like random photographs of objects that are obscure or unusual.

Inspiration is also drawn through taking photographs and reproducing them into Photoshop or illustrator. I like to create a collage or a distortion of the images which I then can create designs from based on the photographs lines and shapes.

 

What is the most important thing that you have learnt over the course of your studies?

The most important thing that I have is to be true to yourself, follow your instincts and to never stop looking as it may serve as inspiration.

 

How would you describe your own personal style?

Within the past two years spent at RMIT we have been given the opportunity to work on many different fashion projects.  So I am lucky enough to have worked on a variation of clothing styles.
At the moment I feel that my style is quite sporty and fun perhaps influenced by my sporting background.

 

What advice would you give to high school students looking to get into RMIT’s fashion design course?

Your design folio should have a range of different concepts that show you are creative… You don’t have to be superb at sewing they just want to know that you have the ability of being creative and innovative. The folio can include items like paintings, graphics, drawings and designs etc.

It is not always the final outcome of the product that the lecturers are interested in. They want to see your development and processes in how you have reached your final product.

 

What are you planning to do after you have completed your forth year at RMIT?

Hopefully I will travel and see the world, gaining inspiration from different cultures.

Then who knows from there…

But the plan is to work on projects with interesting and inspiring people within Australia, Paris, New York or London. Then if all goes well maybe I will be designing for my own label. 

 

And finally when will we be seeing your designs out in the Australian fashion market?

You will be seeing my designs hopefully in the near future!

 

Below are images of Amelia’s sketches and designs

Collage of Amelia’s designs from semester 1, 2009.

Collage of Amelia Agosta’s stretch designs from Semester 1, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's final design from semester 1, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s final stretch design from semester 1, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's final designs in semester 1, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s final stretch designs in semester 1, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's final design in semester 1, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s final stretch design in semester 1, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's final design in semester 1, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s final stretch design in semester 1, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's final design in semester 1, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s final stretch design in semester 1, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's sketches in semester 1, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s tailoring sketches in semester 2, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's sketches in semester 1, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s tailoring sketches in semester 2, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's designs in semester 2, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s tailoring designs in semester 2, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's tailoring designs in semester 2, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s tailoring designs in semester 2, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's tailoring sketches and designs in semester 2, 2009.

Amelia Agosta’s tailoring sketches and designs in semester 2, 2009.

 

Amelia Agosta's umbrella design in semester one, 2009. What is pleasure dome? Inspired by an igloo.

Amelia Agosta’s umbrella design in semester one, 2009. What is pleasure dome? Inspired by an igloo.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Shining light on young talent

  1. esther

    lisa-marie absolutely fab! questions were so good. amelia your work is BRILLIANT.
    good work girls
    cant wait to read more
    xx

  2. Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

